Biology

Mission Statement

The Biology Department offers courses in biology. These courses are part of the General Education core in our associate and certificate programs.

The mission of the Biology Department is consistent with the mission of Jefferson State Community College. The department provides biology courses appropriate for students majoring in both science and non-science disciplines. Our teaching aims to help prepare students for their future professions both inside and outside of the scientific field and also to be a more informed member of their community, able to make responsible decisions in biological matters.

The department will:

  • provide pre-professional programs that offer a structured, timely and comprehensive education.
  • provide quality instruction in freshman and sophomore level courses in biology that transfer to senior institutions, and that lead to associate degrees.
  • prepare students with strong content knowledge in biology with emphasis on critical thinking and problem solving skills, which will allow them to meet their career goals.
  • advise students regarding choice of courses relevant to their academic major and senior institution. The Biology Department is committed to excellence in student advisement and career planning.
  • support public service activities by providing faculty expertise to government agencies, to industry, to educational systems and to professionals desiring additional scientific education or advice.

Faculty/Staff/Advisors

Jefferson Campus

Erin Arnold
Assistant Division Chair,
Math, Engineering & Science
Ruby Carson Hall 237D
(205) 856-6067
earnold1@jeffersonstate.edu

Kelley Black
Biology Instructor
Ruby Carson Hall 242B
(205) 856-7735
kblack@jeffersonstate.edu

Martha Ross
Biology Instructor
Ruby Carson Hall 236B
(205) 856-6036
mross@jeffersonstate.edu

Brooke Snyder
Biology Instructor
Ruby Carson Hall 242C
(205) 856-7813
brsnyder@jeffersonstate.edu

Alexis Stanton
Science Lab Coordinator
Ruby Carson Hall 239A
(205) 856-7791
astanton@jeffersonstate.edu

Charles J. Venglarik
Biology Instructor
Ruby Carson Hall 242D
(205) 856-7730
cvenglarik@jeffersonstate.edu

Rita McLendon
Office Manager
Ruby Carson Hall 237
(205) 856-8521
rfmclendon@jeffersonstate.edu

Shelby-Hoover Campus

Nakia Robinson
Chairperson, Biology Department
Health Science Building 225
(205) 983-5948
nmarshal@jeffersonstate.edu

Thomas Baker
Biology Instructor
Health Science Building 220
(205) 983-5946
tbaker@jeffersonstate.edu

Meena Bej
Biology Instructor
Health Science Building 224
(205) 983-5942
mbej@jeffersonstate.edu

Stephanie Miller
Biology Instructor/Advisor
Health Science Building 223
(205) 983-5947
smiller@jeffersonstate.edu

Julie Parker
Biology Instructor/Advisor
Health Science Building 222
(205) 983-5211
jcparker@jeffersonstate.edu

Preston Wallace
Science Lab Coordinator
Health Science Building 207
(205) 983-5946
pwallace@jeffersonstate.edu

Seena Harris
Office Manager
Health Science Building 200
(205) 983-5934
sharris@jeffersonstate.edu

Chilton-Clanton Campus

Amanda Swindall
Biology Instructor
Chilton-Clanton Campus 123
(205) 280-8218
aswindall@jeffersonstate.edu

St. Clair-Pell City Campus

Brenda Hammer
Biology Instructor
Pell City Campus 129
(205) 812-2723
bhammer@jeffersonstate.edu