Business Information Systems

The Department of Business and Information Systems includes the areas of Business, Computer Science, and Office Administration.

The mission of this department is two-fold. The department provides all students access to quality educational opportunities and   experiences that will meet the needs
of an ever-changing and increasingly demanding technological society.

In addition, the department provides outstanding educational instruction which prepares students for transfer to a college or university.

The department will:

  • provide career programs and professional degree programs that enable graduates to obtain immediate employment
  • prepare students to continue their education at four year institutions
  • expand learning opportunities through the integration of technology with instruction
  • provide access to instruction through distance learning as well as traditional modes of delivery
  • provide courses that help those already employed acquire specialized skills needed as a result of technological advances or for job advancement
  • evaluate programs and courses for relevancy, making  appropriate changes when needed
  • maintain a professional and knowledgeable faculty

Faculty/Staff

Jefferson Campus

Tiffany Todd
Department Chair
Instructor-Business
Ruby Carson Hall 123
(205) 856-7860
ttodd@jeffersonstate.edu

Bill Blanton
Instructor-Business
Ruby Carson Hall 123
(205) 856-7897
bblanton@jeffersonstate.edu

Jesse Bryson
Instructor-Business
Ruby Carson Hall 116
(205) 856-7845
jbryson@jeffersonstate.edu

Leland Wade Crawford
Instructor-IS
Ruby Carson Hall 118
(205) 856-7854
lcrawford@jeffersonstate.edu

DeNedra Peasant
Instructor-IS
Ruby Carson Hall 119
(205) 856-7856
dpeasant@jeffersonstate.edu

Rita McLendon
Office Manager
Ruby Carson Hall 119
(205) 856-7864
rfmclendon@jeffersonstate.edu

Syed Raza
Instructor – IS
Ruby Carson Hall 118
(205) 856-7866
sraza@jeffersonstate.edu

Wanda Smith
Instructor-Business
Ruby Carson Hall 116
(205) 856-7806
wssmith@jeffersonstate.edu

Shelby-Hoover Campus

Sandi Logan
Department Chair
Instructor-Office Administration
Health Science Building 428
(205) 983-5944
slogan@jeffersonstate.edu

Tommy Battles
Program Coordinator – CIS, Advisor
Instructor-Programming
Health Science Building 427
(205) 983-5977
tbattles@jeffersonstate.edu

Barrett Schober Cummings
Program Coordinator
Instructor-Business/Accounting
Health Science Building 429
(205) 983-5987
bschober@jeffersonstate.edu

James Calhoun
Instructor-Business/Accounting
Health Science Building 422
(205) 983-5968
jwcalhoun@jeffersonstate.edu

Linda Hanson Dobyns
Instructor-Networking
Health Science Building 426
(205) 983-5951
lhanson@jeffersonstate.edu

Justin Fisher
Instructor-Business/Economics
Health Science Building 421
(205) 983-5901
jfisher@jeffersonstate.edu

Clark Schatz
Instructor-Business/Economics
Health Science Building 430
(205) 983-5985
cschatz@jeffersonstate.edu

Melanie Cox
Office Manager
Health Science Building 419
(205) 983-5245
mpcox@jeffersonstate.edu