Communications

Mission Statement

The mission of the Communications Department is to develop in students a desire for excellence in scholarship, an ability to communicate effectively and an appreciation for the humanities. The department endorses the college’s Mission Statement and strives to uphold its commitment to learning.

The department strives to:
  • Meet students’ needs by providing a variety of learning activities to address diverse learning styles.
  • Provide access to instruction through distance learning as well as traditional modes of delivery.
  • Prepare students to continue their education at four-year institutions or to enter the workforce.
  • Offer courses that allow students to upgrade communication skills and knowledge for personal enrichment or for job advancement.
  • Maintain an informed and professional faculty.

The Communications Department offers courses in English, mass communications, speech and theatre. These courses are part of the General Education core in our associate and certificate programs.

Faculty/Staff

Jefferson Campus

Kristin Henderson
Division Chair
Bethune Deramus Hall 219
(205) 856-7817
khenderson@jeffersonstate.edu

Teresa Archer
Office Manager
Bethune Deramus Hall 219
(205) 856-8585
tarcher@jeffersonstate.edu

Christinia Woods
English Instructor
Bethune Deramus Hall 207
(205) 856-7829
cwoods@jeffersonstate.edu

Matthew H. Boehm
English Instructor
Bethune DeRamus Hall 214
(205) 856-7826
mboehm@jeffersonstate.edu

Katherine Boyer
English Instructor
Bethune Deramus Hall 215
(205) 856-6085
kboyer@jeffersonstate.edu

Marisa Joann Jones
Speech Instructor
Bethune DeRamus Hall 221
(205) 856-6044
mjones6@jeffersonstate.edu

Haley Davis Kendrick
English Instructor
Bethune Deramus Hall 212
(205) 856-7815
hedavis@jeffersonstate.edu

Clanton Campus

Lauren Ashley Kitchens
Campus Division Chair
Clanton Campus 115
(205) 280-8217
akitchens@jeffersonstate.edu

Jamie King
English Instructor
Clanton
Campus — 212 A
(205) 280-8206
jaking@jeffersonstate.edu

David McKinney
Instructor of Speech
Clanton Campus 125
(205) 280-8220
dmckinn2@jeffersonstate.edu

St. Clair-Pell City Campus

Jacob Melvin
English Instructor
St. Clair-Pell City Campus 131
(205) 812-2718
jmelvin1@jeffersonstate.edu

Ray Harrison
Speech Instructor
St. Clair-Pell City Campus 127
(205) 812-2714
vharri12@jeffersonstate.edu

Shelby-Hoover Campus

Connie Caskey
Department Chair
General Studies Building 216
(205) 983-5966
ccaskey@jeffersonstate.edu

Eugene Cuevas
English Instructor
General Studies Building 214-P
(205) 983-5961
ecuevas@jeffersonstate.edu

Dianna Hyde
English Instructor
General Studies Building 214-Q
(205) 983-5959
dhyde@jeffersonstate.edu

Summer Powell Aldrich
Speech Instructor
General Studies Building 214-D
(205) 983-5945
spaldrich@jeffersonstate.edu

Alex Lewis
English Instructor
General Studies Building 214-H
(205) 983-5974
eablewis@jeffersonstate.edu

Mark Youngblood
English Instructor
General Studies Building 214-E
(205) 983-5257
myoungblood@jeffersonstate.edu

Matt Boehm
English Instructor
General Studies Building 214-B
(205) 529-4443
mboehm@jeffersonstate.edu

Mary Kaiser
English Instructor
General Studies Building 214-K
(205) 520-5958
mkaiser@jeffersonstate.edu

Natalie Dudchock
Speech Instructor
General Studies Building 214-F
(205) 983-5962
dudchock@jeffersonstate.edu

Brian Rockett
English Instructor
General Studies Building 214-J
(205) 983-5957
brockett@jeffersonstate.edu

Janice Ralya
Speech Instructor
Director of Forensics
General Studies Building 214-I
(205) 983-5963
jralya@jeffersonstate.edu

Syreeta Burns
English Instructor
General Studies Building 214-S
(205) 983-5909
slyonsbu@jeffersonstate.edu