Math/Engineering/Physical Sciences

Mission Statement

The Department of Mathematics/Engineering/Physical Sciences offers a broad range of courses that service the career programs of the college and that will transfer to baccalaureate degree granting institutions. The department also offers developmental mathematics courses to prepare students for college level mathematics.

The department will:

  • provide freshman and sophomore-level course work which meets or exceeds the standards of public institutions of higher learning.
  • offer an innovative remedial mathematics program accommodating various skill levels.
  • develop and provide courses relevant to the career and professional degree programs of the college.
  • prepare students with strong content knowledge in chemistry and physics with emphasis on critical thinking and problem solving skills, which will allow them to meet career goals.
  • offer transferable courses in astronomy and physical science that will meet general education requirements in science.
  • ensure supplementary student support through audiovisual materials and tutorial services.
  • provide academic advising to students with engineering majors and general studies.

Faculty/Staff

Division Chairperson

Kevin Towns
Math Science Building 116D
(205) 983-5207
ktownes@jeffersonstate.edu

Vicki H. Adams
Jefferson Campus
Ruby Carson Hall 322
(205) 856-7963
vadams@jeffersonstate.edu

Jefferson Campus

Louise Fall
Mathematics Instructor
Ruby Carson Hall 236C
(205) 856-6005
lfall@jeffersonstate.edu

Lisa Nagy
Chemistry Instructor
Carson Hall 202
(205) 856-7935
lnagy@jeffersonstate.edu

Robert Wallace
Mathematics Instructor
Ruby Carson Hall 239D
(205) 856-6009
rwallace@jeffersonstate.edu

Sam White
Mathematics Instructor
Ruby Carson Hall 236D
(205) 856-6010
swhite@jeffersonstate.edu

Konstantino Theodorou
Math Instructor
Carson Hall 303
(205) 983-5205
ktheodorou@jeffersonstate.edu

Lori Naramore
Office Manager, Math & Biology
Ruby Carson Hall 237
(205) 856-8521
lanaramore@jeffersonstate.edu

Shelby-Hoover Campus

Yu-Ing Hargett
Mathematics Instructor
Math Science Building 114E
(205) 983-5201
yhargett@jeffersonstate.edu

Jeffrey Darby
Mathematics Instructor
Math-Science Building 114A
(205) 983-5989
jdarby2@jeffersonstate.edu

Lisa Nagy
Chemistry Instructor
Carson Hall 202
(205) 856-7935
lnagy@jeffersonstate.edu

Konstantinos Theodorou
Mathematics Instructor
Math Science Building 114B
(205) 983-5205
ktheodorou@jeffersonstate.edu

Peggy Thrasher
Mathematics Instructor
Math Science Building 114D
(205) 983-5203
thrasher@jeffersonstate.edu

Chilton-Clanton Campus

Nanette Easterling
Math Instructor
Chilton-Clanton Campus 212-E
(205) 280-8216
neasterling@jeffersonstate.edu

St. Clair-Pell City Campus

Jamie Holley
Math Instructor
JSCC Pell City Campus
(205) 812-2717
jaholley@jeffersonstate.edu