JSCC’s Tapeka Fennell Honored Among Top Women in Alabama Media

November 6, 2019 dbobo Blog

Tapeka FennellBusiness Alabama magazine recently awarded its 2019 Top Women in Alabama Media during an awards dinner at the Hyatt Regency Wynfrey Hotel on November 4, 2019. Jefferson State’s Tapeka Fennell was one of 25 women honored during the event.

These women were nominated by friends, coworkers, and the public and represent all types of media across the state: broadcast, print, agency, and digital. The Top Women program celebrates women in every role of media, highlighting those making a difference in their communities.

Sharyl Attkisson, a nonpartisan investigative journalist, five-time Emmy Award winner, and recipient of the Edward R. Murrow award for investigative reporting will gave the keynote address.

Tapeka Fennell is the Founder and CEO of the award-winning, Fennell Media Group, a Corporate Consulting, Television, and Multimedia Production Company.

Fennell Media Group is the 1st African American Female-Founded Multimedia Distribution Company in the State(s) of Alabama and Georgia. Fennell Media Group is #1 in creative branding and content development for businesses via television, radio, print, social media, website, email, and print marketing.

Tapeka began Fennell Media Group, to explore the lives of people whom she felt had stories that needed to be told, and realizing that learning certain lessons was done by exploring the experiences of others. These stories and lessons are passed along to her audience for motivation and encouragement
Fennell Media Group is now moving toward featuring the “invisible leaders” of our community and the world at large. These are leaders who work behind the scenes to make positive things happen. “Our goal is to highlight the contributions of those who serve outside the limelight.”

The complete list of honorees were:
1. Rebecca Arbour, iHeartMedia
2. Hannah Black, SummitMedia
3. Susan Britt, Alabama Political Reporter
4. Anne Cain, Meredith Corporation
5. Dee Ann Campbell, The Choctaw Sun-Advocate
6. Dr. Chandra Clark, UA College of Communication and Information Sciences
7. Jennifer Cohron, Daily Mountain Eagle
8. Ann Collister, Stroh Communications
9. Glenda Curl, The Wilcox Progressive Era
10. Tapeka Fennell, Fennell Media Group
11. Sherri Jackson, CBS 42
12. Edie Hand, Hand ’N Hand Entertainment
13. Bradford Kachelhofer, The Modern Brand Co.
14. Brenda Ladun, Alabama’s ABC 33/40
15. Felicia Mason, Alabama Press Association
16. Carmelita Palmer, iHeartMedia
17. Audrey Pannell, Style Advertising, Inc.
18. Deborah Pearson, WOOF Radio
19. Roxanne Richardson, WDJC
20. Anne Riley, Uptick Marketing
21. Carrie Rollwagen, Infomedia
22. Margot Shaw, Flower Magazine
23. Natalie Smith, SummitMedia
24. Dawn Taylor, AAF Birmingham
25. Sharon Tinsley, Alabama Broadcasters Association