Phi Theta Kappa Announces 2015 Faculty Scholars

Jefferson State Community College English instructor Matt Boehm  is one of twenty-eight community college faculty to be selected by Phi Theta Kappa to serve as 2015 Faculty Scholars.

Twenty-eight community college instructors have been selected from among nearly 3,000 chapter advisors to serve as Phi Theta Kappa’s 2015 Faculty Scholars. The scholars were selected through a rigorous application process based on knowledge of the 2014/2015 Honors Study Topic, Frontiers and the Spirit of Exploration, and demonstrated excellence in teaching or administration.

In addition to the strength of their applications, the selection committee also considered where the applicant lives, the Phi Theta Kappa division in which they advise, the teaching or professional discipline and the variety in terms of the number of years the applicant has served as a chapter advisor. The result is a strong, diverse group of Faculty Scholars.

“We congratulate them for being selected to serve and for their willingness and desire to surpass the traditional duties of an advisor by contributing in this manner,” said Susan Edwards, Phi Theta Kappa’s Dean of Academic Affairs and Honors Programs.

Among those selected as Faculty Scholars are eight advisors who were chosen to serve on Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors Program Council. Members of the council serve four-year terms and help assess the Society’s honors programming. They will also be charged with developing the 2016/2017 Honors Study Topic.

Dr. Mitch Stimers is the 2015 Parnell Scholar. This scholarship is awarded to a Faculty Scholar who has never before participated in NerdNation or Honors Institute and whose application is judged outstanding by the Faculty Scholar Selection Committee. Stimers’ registration, airfare and hotel for NerdNation 2015 will be covered.

The group will attend the annual Faculty Scholar Conference at Phi Theta Kappa’s Center for Excellence in Jackson, Mississippi, January 29-February 1. They will study the 2014/2015 Honors Study Topic and prepare to serve as discussion facilitators for the 2015 Honors Institute at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque.

During Honors Institute, the Faculty Scholars will lead groups of 15 to 20 honor students in seminar discussions of the issues presented by experts on the Honors Study Topic throughout the week. A second Faculty Scholar Conference will be held in the days leading up to Honors Institute.

“The Faculty Scholar Conference is recognized internationally as one of the finest professional development programs available for community college faculty members,” said Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director and CEO Dr. Rod Risley. “Intense training is provided by nationally recognized scholars to prepare the Faculty Scholars to serve as facilitators for Honors Institute, which is attended by approximately 450 Phi Theta Kappa members and chapter advisors from around the world and praised as ‘the crown jewel of honors programming experiences.’ ”